top of page

How the Coronavirus Has Affected Me

Since I think that our personal story is incredibly important, I am sharing my experience of disappointment and hope in the face of the coronavirus with you. It is in no way drastic and can not even compare to the stories of others, but there's a reason I'm being vulnerable about this, which you will see.


I have been preparing for this year's track season since late November of last year, after Cross Country ended. My brother and I and a couple other guys would go to the gym for around two hours a day, three to four days a week, and we worked HARD for all four months.


Track started at the end of February, and we were pumped. Our times were already a lot faster than they had ever been, and a couple of us had a chance at making it to state. I got shin splints a couple weeks before the season started, but I changed up my workouts to have a lot less impact on my feet and they were getting better. We were set for our best season yet. The first day, I was the fastest (and honestly the cockiest) kid on the distance team; it was pretty sweet. The second day I did my best to stop being so prideful, because it was hurting my relationship with my teammates and it wasn't healthy for me. That day was a lot better, I had fun, it was good.


But, pretty soon my shin splints came back worse than before, and I was forced to stop running just a week into the season to allow them time to heal. I did a lot of work on the elliptical and in the weight room to keep in shape so I wouldn't fall behind. It was hard, I had worked hard and now I couldn't even run, but recovery wasn't too far down the road so I kept going. My best friend was an incredible help, running beside me on the treadmill (which is torture, all you runners would agree) while I did my elliptical work and checking on me everyday to see how I was doing. God was working in him and through him in a lot of ways, and he was showing me the humility and selflessness that I was failing at in my life. He helped me regain my focus for the season; I was striving to use the talents God had given me to reach those around me, to show them God's love, and to show them how people should really treat each other: as people, not as objects to be used. I was happy, and ready to have an awesome season.


Then, we got the news that someone had the coronavirus in our state! I started thinking about how it might affect the season but I really didn't think it would do much; I was optimistic. A day or two later, bam --- it was reported that all sports in our state have been "indefinitely suspended." If things do not get better fast, our whole season is most likely cancelled. Recently, our school shut down. I haven't been able to see many of my teammates since, but I know that some of them, especially the seniors, are pretty bummed about it. As I mentioned, I don't really think about negatives very often. So when I heard that our season was cancelled, I just kinda moved on, not giving it much thought, maybe because I didn't want to think about all the stuff I would be missing.


Honestly, it will be hard to have a spring without track. I won't be able to hang out with a lot of my good friends. I won't be able to be a light to them of God's love like I would have during track, which was what I really wanted to do this season. I did work very hard during the off-season and I was probably going to get the best times I have ever gotten. Honestly, if I don't ignore the bad stuff, it does kind of stink.


But I know that there is a reason for all of this, and none of the time that I spent in training was wasted! I got a lot closer to the dudes that I worked out with, even though I did not start some of the conversations I wish I would have. I learned how to work hard. I learned that it is necessary to believe in yourself if you want to accomplish anything, and I'm learning how to balance that with humility and focus on Jesus. I learned from my injury where I was failing and was challenged by my friend to stop having such a bloated head and to start looking at others' needs.


I am missing out on being with my friends, and that stinks, but God knows that this is what I needed in my life to push me to be an even better friend than I would have been in track. If I think about it, look at how much better of a friend I can be right now. Instead of just hanging out with the group I am challenged to reach out to them individually to check on them, to ask them how they are doing, to see how they are feeling about track ending, to ask them how I can pray for them during this hard time. If I get out of my comfort zone, I can call them instead of just texting them to make it much more important, deep, and personal. And if I really get out of my comfort zone, I could invite them over to hang out, face to face, get to know them better, individually, play some games, and have fun!


What has happened to me because of the coronavirus is soooo minimal compared to other people that I hesitate even to talk about it. But I want to start a conversation. If I don't talk about my situation out of fear that other people will judge me for it, then no one will! So, I have done my part, now it's your turn. Talk to someone in your life about what's going on in your life. It can be in the comments here or in the forum, but I would really encourage you to talk to someone in your life about it. Your mom, dad, brother, sister, best friend, grandparent, uncle, parole officer, whoever it may be... talk to someone about it. Especially if you are going through depression, anxiety, stress, or just having a bad day, don't be afraid to talk to someone about it, because when you share your struggles, things suddenly get a lot brighter.


One last thing. The thing that is and will probably impact me the most is the closing of public Masses (what you call a Catholic Church service) in our diocese. Thankfully they have not closed the door to the church as they have in some states, so I can still drop by to visit with Jesus, but the Mass is the center of my life as a Catholic. Jesus becomes truly present there, and the intimate encounter with Him at Mass is the closest you will ever get to Heaven while still on earth, because at Mass, Heaven literally comes down to earth, and God is literally there before you. There's nothing else on earth like it, and I may not get to experience it for a long time. I have faith that the virus will be over soon, because I do not think that God could hold back the blessings He desires to pour out through the Mass for very long. I have hope! God's will be done.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page